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INTRODUCTION 
 

 The Legislative Update for Law Enforcement is a 
review of laws enacted during the 2006 Session of the 
North Carolina General Assembly.  It contains a 
summary of selected legislation of interest to law 
enforcement agencies.  Individuals who would like 
more details about certain bills may receive a copy of 
the bill, at no cost, by calling the North Carolina 
General Assembly Printed Bills Office at (919) 733-
5648 or by writing to the Printed Bills Office, State 
Legislative Building, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603.  
You may also get more information and copies from 
the General Assembly’s Website at www.ncleg.net. 
 

 

http://www.ncleg.net/
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ABC LAW 

 
VARIOUS ABC LAW CHANGES            HB 1025; SL 2006-227 
 
Section 1 amends G.S. §18B-1001 to allow the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission to issue 
permits to winemaking-on-premises businesses, thereby authorizing such businesses to sell 
ingredients and rent equipment, time, and space for the production of unfortified wine for personal 
use by individual consumers who are at least 21 years old, and only in jurisdictions where 
unfortified wine sales are permitted.  Also prohibits the manufacture of unfortified wine by a permit 
holder, excluding samples for testing recipes or equipment, and requires that any wine produced 
must be for the personal use of the customer only.  
 
Section 2. rewrites G.S. §18B-307 to prohibit the sale or possession of equipment or ingredients 
intended for use in manufacturing an alcoholic beverage, except that allowed under a Brew on 
Premises or Winemaking on Premises permit.  Prohibits knowingly allowing another person to use 
one’s real or personal property for the manufacture of an alcoholic beverage, except that allowed 
under a Brew on Premises or Winemaking on Premises permit.  Prohibits the manufacture of an 
alcohol beverage without the applicable ABC permit and revenue licenses, except for an 
establishment with a Brew on Premises or Winemaking on Premises permit. 
 
Section 3. amends G.S. §18B-902(d) to establish a Winemaking on Premises permit fee of $400, 
and a Wine Shipper Packager permit fee of $100.   
 
Section 4. amends G.S. §18B-1001.1(c) to authorize a wine shipper permittee to contract with a 
holder of a wine shipper packager permit for the packaging and shipment of wine. 
 
Section 5. amends G.S. §18B-1001.2 to require the details of shipments under the contract to be 
compiled and submitted to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission as part of the permittee’s 
quarterly report. 
 
Section 6. enacts new G.S. §18B-1001.3 to authorize the holder of a wine shipper packager permit 
to provide warehousing, packaging, and shipment services to a winery that has a wine shipper 
permit. 
 
Section 7. amends G.S. §18B-1006(a) to exempt from the prohibition against alcoholic sales golf 
courses that are open to the public and owned or leased by schools and college campuses. 
 
Section 8. amends G.S. §18B-108 to permit malt beverages, unfortified wine, and fortified wine to 
be sold to rail lines that carry at least 60,000 passengers annually. 
 
Section 9. amends G.S. §18B-1001(16) to delete the restrictions on wine that can be sold on the 
premises of establishments holding wine tasting permits, and provide that these premises are not 
subject to the regulations of food and lodging facilities under G.S. §130A-247 through §130A-250, 
unless they are also engaged in the preparation or sale of food. 
 
Section 10 adds new G.S. §18B -203(a)(19) permitting the ABC Commission to recognize the 
holder of a wine importer permit or nonresident wine vendor permit as a “primary American source 
of supply” for the wine of a winery. 
 
Section 11 adds new G.S. §18B-1106(c) providing that the holder of a wine importer permit may 
import and sell to wholesalers only wine for which it is a primary American source of supply. 
 
Section 12 amends G.S. §18B -1107(a) to specify that the holder of wine wholesaler permit must 
receive wine from only the following: (1) a primary American source of supply for that wine; (2) a 
licensed NC wholesaler who received the wine from a primary American source of supply; (3) 
another wholesaler from whom the wholesaler is purchasing the business or the brand or 
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distribution rights for the wine; or (4) another wholesaler who also has distribution rights for the 
wine, to address a temporary inventory shortage. 
 
Section 13 amends G.S. §18B-1114 to provide that the holder of a nonresident wine vendor permit 
may sell, deliver, and ship into NC only wine for which it is a primary American source of supply. In 
all three sections, defines a primary American source of supply as a wine importer that has lawfully 
purchased the wine from the winery or an agent of the winery and by written contract of otherwise 
has been authorized by the winery to distribute the wine to U.S. wholesalers. 
 
Section 14 amends G.S. §105-113.81A to provide that the Secretary of Revenue is to credit to 
Department of Commerce $200,000 per quarter from the excise tax on unfortified wine, in lieu of 
the formula for the allocation currently in the statute. 
 
Effective Date:   
 
GOVERNOR’S DWI TASK FORCE            HB 1048; SL 2006-253 
RECOMMENDATIONS 
 
Section 1 This act is known as the Motor Vehicle Driver Protection Act of 2006. 
 
Section 2: Establishes the definition of a keg - “…a portable container designed to hold and 
dispense in excess of 7.75 gallons or more of malt beverage.” 
 
Section 3.1: Requires a purchase-transportation permit for the purchase of a keg by certain 
consumers.  Authorizes a permit (G.S. §18B-1001(2)) holder to issue a purchase-transportation 
permit.  
 
Section 3.2: Exempts a keg, when obtained properly, from the restricted amounts of malt 
beverages that can be purchased at one-time.  Allows a permittee (G.S. §18B-1001(2)) to purchase 
kegs (any amount) for on-premises consumption. 
 
Section 4: Modifies the statutes on motor vehicle checking stations and roadblocks to standardize 
procedures by law enforcement, and provide for a written policy to ensure randomization. 
 
Section 5: Delineates procedures for the investigation and processing of implied-consent offenses. 
 
Section 6: Allows the admissibility of certain expert opinions and test results pertaining to a 
purported offense of impaired driving, or to the speed of a vehicle.  
 
Section 7: Identifies grounds for administering alcohol screening tests; provides for the approval 
and manner of use of screening devices by DHHS; and allows the results from alcohol screening 
devices and a driver’s refusal to submit to a screening to be used to determine that a driver 
committed an implied-consent offense. 
 
Section 8: Clarifies the definition of a public vehicular area. 
 
Sections 9 and 10: Clarify what constitutes an impaired driving offense, including impaired driving in 
a commercial vehicle.  Provides that the results of a chemical analysis are sufficient to prove 
alcohol concentration, and that both offenses include driving with any amount of a Schedule I 
controlled substance or its metabolites in one’s system.  Specifies admissible evidence for proving 
gross vehicle weight (commercial vehicle). 
 
Sections 12 and 13: Expands the offense of habitual impaired driving to include conviction of three 
or more impaired driving offenses within 10 years of the date of recent offense. Specifies that the 
provisions of G.S. §120-139.1 apply to such an offense. 
 
Section 14: Increases the penalty for Felony Death by Vehicle from a Class G to Class E felony.  
Creates new offenses: Aggravated Felony Death by Vehicle (Class D), Felony Serious Injury by 
Vehicle (Class F), and Aggravated Felony Serious Injury by Vehicle (Class E). Includes a sentence 
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enhancement for Repeat Felony Death by Vehicle, punishable as Second Degree Murder (Class 
B2). 
 
Section 15: Rewrites the implied consent law to clarify grounds and procedures for performing 
chemical analyses, and changes the standard of review by superior court when a license 
revocation for refusal to submit to chemical analysis is appealed. 
 
Section 16: Standardizes chemical analysis procedures and forms, and clarifies the admissibility of 
chemical analysis results in court. 
 
Sections 17 and 18: Requires improved access to patients (including juveniles) and their medical 
records for impaired driving cases, and provides that a certified copy of health information is 
admissible in court.  Amends G.S. §8-53.1(b) to provide physician-patient and nurse privilege 
waived in child abuse; disclosure of information in impaired driving accident cases. 
 
Section 19: Requires a prosecutor to explain, document, and distribute certain information if he 
accepts a plea for lesser offense, enters a voluntary dismissal, or substitutes another charge in an 
implied-consent or driving while license revoked (after impaired driving conviction) case.  
 
Section 20.1: Requires the clerk of superior court to keep specific file data for all cases involving 
impaired driving and any other violation of the motor vehicle code related to the possession, 
consumption, or transport of alcoholic beverages. 
 
Section 20.2: Requires the Administrative Office of the Courts to maintain and report on the data 
identified in Section 20.1. 
 
Section 21: Allows the Division of Motor Vehicles to prove revocation notice through personal 
delivery or mail by making a notation in its records; a certified copy of Division records may serve 
as proof of notice in court. 
 
Section 22.1: Revises statute on revocation and restoration of driver’s license for driving while 
impaired. Includes criminal penalty (Class 1 misdemeanor) for driving with a revoked license after 
revocation notice for driving while impaired, or failure to appear for more than two years from the 
charge date for an implied-consent offense. 
 
Section 22.2: Require DMV to revoke a license upon conviction for impaired driving under G.S. 
§20-138.2 if the driver’s alcohol concentration level was .06 or higher. 
 
Sections 22.3:and 22.4 Require DMV to revoke a license upon conviction for impaired driving under 
G.S. 20-138.1. Provides for a medical exception to the ignition interlock requirement. 
  
Section 23: Modifies DWI sentencing statutes to conform to Blakely vs. Washington decision 
concerning the determination of aggravating or mitigating factors for sentencing. 
 
Section 24: Requires the clerk of court to maintain all records relating to impaired driving 
convictions for at least ten years from the date of conviction; the clerk must also maintain certain 
summary data on each case beyond the ten year period. 
 
Section 25: Repeals G.S. 20-17.2 (revocation and notice procedures). 
 
Section 26: Makes the purchase, possession, or consumption of alcohol by a 19 or 20 year old a 
Class 3 misdemeanor; allows law enforcement to employ alcohol screening devices to determine 
consumption. 
 
Section 27: Requires a DWI offender who has completed a recommended treatment or training 
program and who is not being paroled to a residential treatment program to be assigned community 
service parole or house arrest. 
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Section 28: Prohibits a permittee from employing someone who was a permit holder, but who had 
the permit revoked within the last 18 months and who had been the permit holder at the location 
where the person would be employed. 
 
Section 29: Encourages all justices and judges to receive training and legal education on DWI 
offenses and related issues.  
 
Section 30: Provides that a motion for appropriate relief (MAR) may not be granted without a 
District Attorney’s signature, unless 10 business days have passed since the DA was notified in 
court or served with the motion. 
 
Section 31: Allows for the seizure of a vehicle that is driven by a person who is guilty of committing 
the following three offenses at the same time: DWI, driving with no driver’s license or a revoked 
driver’s license, and driving with no insurance. 
 
Effective Date: Sections 20.1, 20.2, and the requirement that the Administrative Office of the Courts 
electronically record certain data contained in subsection (c) of G.S.§20-138.4, as amended by 
Section 19 of this act, become effective after the next rewrite of the superior court clerks system by 
the Administrative Office of the Courts.  The remainder of this act becomes effective December 1, 
2006, and applies to offenses committed on or after that date. 
 
 

CRIMINAL LAW AND PROCEDURE 
 
PROTECT CHILDREN/SEX OFFENDER LAW CHANGES HB 1896;SL 2006-247 
 
Section 1 adds: statutory rape of a person who is 13, 14, or 15 years old by a defendant who is at 
least 6 years older. 
 
Sections 2 and 3 requires that any adult or juvenile convicted as an adult who is required to register 
must do so in person at the appropriate Sheriff’s Office. 
 
Section 3 requires that any juvenile who is required to register must do so in person at the Sheriff’s 
Office. 
 
Section 4 enacts a new G.S. §14-208.8A which requires any person who must register and who 
works part-time or full-time in a county that is not the person's residence for more than 10 business 
days within a 30-day period, or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year, to 
maintain registration with the sheriff of the county where the person works as well as the sheriff of 
the county of residence.  The Sheriff is then required to notify the Department of Justice, which will, 
in turn notify the Sheriff of the county in which the offender will be working. This provision becomes 
effective June 1, 2007. 
 
Section 5 requires a registered offender to petition the court in order to terminate registration.  
Under current law, registration on the 10-year registry terminates automatically at the end of 10 
years.  Under this act, the court may terminate registration if (1) the petitioner has not been 
arrested for any crime that would require registration since completing his sentence, (2) the relief 
complies with any federal standards applicable to termination or are required to be met as a 
condition for the receipt of federal funds, and (3) the court is otherwise satisfied the petitioner is not 
a threat to public safety.  If the offender's petition is denied, the offender must wait one year before 
petitioning the court again. 
 
Section 6 requires an offender to notify the Sheriff in person of the intent to move out of state 
at least 10 days before the departure date.  The person is required to provide, in writing, the 
address, municipality, county, and state of intended residence.  In addition, if the Sheriff determines 
that the record photograph no longer provides a true likeness of the offender, the Sheriff shall take 
a photograph of the sexual offender to update the registry.  Requires that sex offender registration, 



 -7-

verification, notice of address change, notice of change in academic status, and notice of change in 
employment status at an institution of higher education all be done in person at the Sheriff's office. 
 
Section 7 requires semiannual verification in person by the offender.  Under current law, an 
offender is required to verify registration information only on an annual basis and by mail.  If the 
Sheriff determines that the record photograph no longer provides a true likeness of the offender, 
the Sheriff shall take a photograph of the sexual offender to update the registry. 
 
Section 8 provides that anyone who willfully violates this article for failure to comply with registration 
requirements is guilty of a Class F felony. 
 
Section 9 creates a new Class H felony for harboring a sex offender. A person is guilty of this 
offense if the person: (1) has reason to believe an offender is in violation of the registration 
requirements; (2) has the intent to assist the offender in eluding arrest; and (3) withholds 
information from law enforcement, harbors or conceals, or attempts to harbor or conceal, the 
offender, or provides false information to law enforcement. 
 
Section 10 requires a registered sex offender to petition the court in order to terminate registration. 
Under current law, registration on the 10-year registry terminates automatically at the end of 10 
years. Under this act, the court may terminate registration if: (1) the sex offender has not been 
arrested for any crime that would require registration since completing his sentence; (2) the relief 
complies with any federal standards applicable to termination or are required to be met as a 
condition for the receipt of federal funds; and (3) the court is otherwise satisfied the sex offender is 
not a threat to public safety. If the offender's petition is denied, the offender must wait one year 
before petitioning the court again. 
 
Section 11 creates a new Class G felony for a person who is registered or required to register to 
knowingly reside within 1,000 feet of a public or nonpublic school or child care center. Persons who 
have established a residence prior to the effective date of the act are grandfathered. 
 
Section 12 expands the definition of 'sexual contact', which is the term defining the physical act in 
the offense of sexual battery, to include "ejaculating, emitting, or placing semen, urine, or feces 
upon any part of another person."  Under current law, sexual battery is the only misdemeanor 
(Class A1) requiring sex offender registration. 
 
Section 13 requires juvenile court counselors to provide verification information on behalf of juvenile 
registrants, by mail, semiannually (currently an annual requirement). 
 
Section 14 amends G.S. §15A-1341(d) to require a court to search the sex offender registrations 
when placing a defendant on probation. 
 
Section 15 requires a sex offender who is classified as a sexually violent predator, is a recidivist, or 
was convicted of an aggravated offense to be enrolled in a GPS monitoring program for life and, 
after completing any period of supervised probation, be placed on unsupervised probation for life.  
A person required to submit to lifetime GPS monitoring may file a request for termination with the 
Post-Release Supervision and Parole Commission at least one year after having served his or her 
sentence and having completed any period of probation, parole, or post-release supervision.  
Intentionally tampering with, removing, or vandalizing a GPS device is a Class E felony.  Failure to 
enroll as required in the GPS monitoring program is a Class F felony.  Requires offenders who 
have committed an offense involving the physical, mental, or sexual abuse of a minor, and who 
require the highest level of supervision based on the Department of Correction sex offender risk 
assessment program to be subject to GPS monitoring for a time period ordered by the court.  The 
Post-Release Supervision and Parole Commission has no authority to terminate a monitoring 
requirement for an offender enrolled in GPS monitoring under this provision.  There is a $90 fee for 
enrolling in the program. Upon motion and cause, the court may waive the fee. 
 
Section 16 allows the Department of Correction (DOC) to issue a Request for Proposal (RFP), or 
contract directly through a contract alliance or consortium, for passive and active GPS. 
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Section 17 requires DOC to develop, no later than January 1, 2007, a graduated risk assessment 
program that identifies sex offenders that may need extraordinary supervision. 
 
Section 18 requires DOC to study and develop a plan of mental health treatment programs for 
incarcerated sex offenders designed to reduce the likelihood of recidivism.   
 
Section 19 requires DMV to provide notice to all applicants for a driver’s license, learner's permit, or 
ID card of the obligation for sex offenders to register.  Requires DMV to search the National Sex 
Offender Public Registry to determine whether an applicant who has resided in North Carolina for 
less than 12 months is currently registered in another state.  If so, then no license or ID card may 
be issued until the person is registered in this State.  If the person does not appear on the registry, 
then an acknowledgment of the State's registration law must be signed.  It also provides a 
procedure if DMV is unable to search the registry at the time of application.  Provides a procedure 
for petitioning the court if DMV refuses to issue a license or revokes a license that was improperly 
issued because a later search revealed the person's unregistered status. 
 
Section 20 creates a new Article 10A – Human Trafficking.  This creates a new criminal offense for 
subjecting or maintaining a person in sexual servitude.  Sexual servitude is any sexual activity 
performed or provided, or for which anything of value is given or promised, which is induced or 
obtained by coercion or deception, or which is obtained from a person under the age of 18.  This 
offense is a Class F felony if the victim is an adult, and it is a Class C felony if the victim is a minor.  
Amends Involuntary Servitude - under current law, subjecting a person to involuntary servitude is a 
Class F felony. This act amends the offense by making it a Class C felony if the victim is a minor. 
Otherwise, the offense is the same.  Amends the offense of kidnapping to include human trafficking 
and subjecting or maintaining a person in sexual servitude. 
 
Section 21 provides that the provisions of this act are severable. If any provision is held invalid by a 
court of competent jurisdiction, the invalidity does not affect other provisions of the act that can be 
given effect without the invalid provision. 
 
Effective Date: Section 15 of this act is effective as provided herein. Sections 14, 16, 17, 18, 21, 
and 22 are effective when this act becomes law.  Prosecutions for offenses committed before the 
effective date of this act are not abated or affected by this act, and the statutes that would be 
applicable but for this act remain applicable to those prosecutions.  Except as otherwise provided in 
this act, the remainder of this act becomes effective December 1, 2006, and applies to offenses 
committed on or after that date. 
 
ASSAULT HANDICAPPED/INCREASE PENALTY           SB 488; SL 2006-179 
 
Amends G.S. §14-32.1 to increase the penalty for simple assault or battery on a handicapped 
person from a class 1 misdemeanor to a class A1 misdemeanor.  
 
Effective Date: August 1, 2006  
 
METH. LAB PREVENTION ACT              SB 686; SL 2006-186 

 
This Act makes various changes to the “Methamphetamine Lab Prevention Act of 2005" in order to 
comply with federal law and to make other technical changes. 
 
Effective Date: July 20, 2006 
 
ESTABLISH NC INNOCENCE INQUIRY COMMISSION     HB 1323; SL 2006-184 
 
This Act establishes the North Carolina Innocence Inquiry Commission as an extra ordinary 
procedure to investigate and determine credible claims of factual innocence.  The Innocence 
Inquiry Commission is an independent commission under the court system and is comprised of the 
following: 
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• superior court judge; 
• prosecuting attorney; 
• victim advocate; 
• person engaged in the practice of criminal defense law; 
• sheriff; 
• a public member who is not an attorney and who is not an officer or employee of the 

Judicial Department; and  
• two remaining members are selected at the discretion of the Chief Justice. 

 
These voting members are appointed initially by the Chief Justice and the Chief Judge of the 
Court of Appeals.   

 
A claim of factual innocence may be made by any court, agency, or person, but may not be made 
for someone who is deceased.  To file a claim of factual innocence, a person must be convicted of 
a felony and maintain that they are completely innocent of any criminal responsibility for the felony 
and completely innocent of any criminal responsibility for any other reduced level of criminal 
offense relating to the crime.  There must be some creditable, verifiable evidence of the person’s 
innocence that has not previously been presented at trial or considered at a hearing granted 
through post-conviction relief.   
 
Once the Commission considers all of the evidence presented related to a claim of factual 
innocence, if less than five of the eight voting members of the Commission conclude that there is 
not sufficient evidence of factual innocence, the case is dismissed and the convicted felon who filed 
the claim has no appeal rights.  If five or more of the eight voting members of the Commission 
conclude that there is sufficient evidence of factual innocence, then the case is referred by the 
Commission to a panel of three superior court judges appointed by the Chief Justice of the 
Supreme Court of North Carolina.  If the convicted felon who is filing the claim pled guilty in the 
case, the Commission can refer the case to the three judge panel of superior court judges only if all 
eight of the eight voting members of the Commission agree that there is sufficient evidence of 
actual innocence.  If the case is heard by the three-judge panel of superior court judges, and if the 
vote is not unanimous, the panel must deny relief to the convicted felon who filed the claim.  If all 
three judges vote unanimously that there is “clear and convincing evidence” that the convicted felon 
is innocent of the charges, then the panel shall enter an order dismissing the charges against the 
convicted felon.  The decision of the three-judge panel is final and not subject to further review or 
appeal.  A convicted felon who files a claim of factual innocence is not prohibited from also filing a 
Motion for Appropriate Relief or pursuing any other available appeal rights allowed by law.  When 
the case is heard by the three-judge panel, the State shall be represented by the district attorney 
from the district where the convicted felon was convicted. 

 
Claims of actual innocence can be filed with the Commission beginning on November 1, 2006, 
however, claims where the convicted felon pled guilty may not be filed until November 1, 2008.  As 
currently enacted, no claims may be filed after December 31, 2010.  For it to be continued beyond 
December 31, 2010, new legislation must be approved by the General Assembly. 

 
Effective Date: August 3, 2006 and applies to claims of factual innocence filed on or before 
December 31, 2010. 
 

ETHICS, ELECTION AND CAMPAIGN LAWS  
 
ELECTORAL FAIRNESS ACT                HB 88; SL 2006-234 
 
This Act reduces the number of signatures required by a statewide unaffiliated candidate to get on 
the ballot; reduces the number of votes a new political party must gain to maintain ballot eligibility; 
and provides that a candidate who ran in a party primary for an office is not eligible for nomination 
by another party to fill a vacancy in its nomination for the same office in the same year. 

 
Effective Date:  This act becomes effective January 1, 2007, and applies to all primaries and 
elections held on or after that date. 
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ELECTION CHANGES               HB 128; SL 2006-262 
 
This Act authorizes county boards of elections to take steps to count mailed absentee votes earlier; 
clarifies how a voter must report when they move to a new address; clarifies a person’s residence 
for voting purposes; makes changes in the law to challenge a voter’s residence; specifies how 
banks and other financial institutions may make loans without violating the prohibition on corporate 
contributions; clarifies what reasonable administrative expenses include; and provides that except 
for the envelope, provisional ballots shall not be marked to be identifiable to a voter. 

 
Effective Date:  
 
STATE GOVERNMENT ETHICS ACT – 1          HB 1843; SL 2006-201 
 
This Act creates the State Ethics Commission; establishes ethical standards for certain State public 
officers, State employees and appointees to non-advisory State boards and commissions; requires 
public disclosure of economic interests by certain persons in the executive, legislative, and judicial 
branches; and amends the lobbying laws. 
 
Effective Date: January 1, 2007 
 
PERMITTED USE OF CAMPAIGN FUNDS          HB 1845; SL 2006-161 
 
This Act restricts the use of contributions to candidates and candidates’ campaign funds to those 
related to campaigns and office holding duties; prohibits personal use of contributions by 
candidates and candidate campaign committees; and strengthens reporting requirements to 
prevent violations. 
 
Effective Date: October 1, 2006 
 
2006 CAMPAIGN FINANCE CHANGES           HB 1846; SL 2006-195 
 
This Act lowers the threshold from one hundred dollars to fifty dollars for accepting a political 
contribution in cash; prohibits the use of blank payee checks in campaign contributions; requires 
the reporting of the identity of a contributor who makes a contribution of more than fifty dollars; 
specifies the time period by which the threshold for identifying an individual contributor's identity is 
measured; adds a penalty for accepting contributions from certain non-legal sources; bars 
prosecution if best efforts are made to ensure that a contribution is from a legal source; and 
strengthens political committee treasurer training. 
 
Effective Date: January 1, 2007 
 
 

LOCAL LAWS 
 
LOCAL ATV USE /WHITEVILLE UNSAFE BUILDING         HB 845; SL 2006-116 
 
This Act adds Gaston, Surry, and Wilkes Counties, and the towns of Ocean Isle Beach and Surf 
City, to the areas in which law enforcement officers and employees may operate unregistered 
all-terrain vehicles on highways with speed limits of thirty-five miles per hour or less and to allow 
the City of Whiteville to declare residential buildings in community development target areas unsafe 
+and to demolish those buildings using the same process authorized for the demolition of unsafe 
nonresidential buildings. 
 
Effective Date: July 13, 2006 
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MINT HILL PUBLIC NUISANCE ORDINANCE            HB 2000; SL 2006-14 
 
The Charter of the Town of Mint Hill is amended to authorize the town to give annual notice to 
chronic violators of the town’s public nuisance ordinance.  Without further notice in the calendar 
year in which notice is given, the town can take action to remedy the violation, and the expense of 
the action shall become a lien upon the property and shall be collected as unpaid taxes. The initial 
annual notice shall be served by registered or certified mail.  A chronic violator is a person who 
owns property whereupon, in the previous calendar year, the Town gave notice of violation at least 
three times under any provision of the public nuisance ordinance." 
 
Effective Date: June 20, 2006 
 
MATTHEWS/MINT HILL JUNKED VEHICLES            HB 2001; SL 2006-15 
 
G.S. § 160A-303(b)(2) is amended affecting the regulation of abandoned or junked motor vehicles 
in the towns of Matthews and Mint Hill. 
 
Effective Date: June 20, 2006 
 
CIVILIAN TRAFIC INVESTIGATORS           HB 2041; SL 2006-100 
 
Allows the City of Fayetteville to use civilian traffic investigators to investigate property damage 
(traffic) crashes.  A report completed by a civilian traffic investigator shall be treated the same as if 
it were completed by a law enforcement officer.  A law enforcement officer shall investigate any 
crash involving personal injury or a fatality.  A civilian traffic investigator shall have no authority to 
arrest or issue criminal process and will not be issued a weapon of any type.  A civilian traffic 
investigator shall have the same authority as a law enforcement officer to tow or remove a vehicle 
that is obstructing a public street or highway. 
 
Effective Date: July 12, 2006 
 
LAW ENFORCEMENT USE OF ATVs             HB 2273, SL 2006-25 
 
Act allows law enforcement officers and employees in Currituck County and the towns of 
Cramerton, Dallas and Highlands to use all-terrain vehicles on public streets and highways.  
 
Effective Date: June 27, 2006 
 
 
LAW ENFORCEMENT/PIEDMONT TRIAD             HB 2421; SL 2006-93 
WATER AUTHORITY 
 
Authorizes the Piedmont Triad Water Authority to employ lake wardens with the authority of police 
officers, including the power of arrest, to enforce federal and state laws for the protection of the 
watershed, the protection of game and wildlife in the area, and the protection of parks and 
recreational areas in Guilford and Randolph Counties. 
 
Effective Date: July 10, 2006 
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LAW ENFORCEMENT EMPLOYEE/ATV/JUNK          SB 1199; SL 2006-166 
VEHICLES 
 
Act adds additional cities, towns, and counties to allow law enforcement officers and employees to 
use all-terrain vehicles on public streets and highways.  Additional cities are:  Stanley, Belmont, 
Cherryville, Gastonia, Mount Holly, Cleveland County.   Act also amended the towns and cities that 
can regulate abandoned or junked motor vehicles by adding Belmont, Bessemer City, Cherryville, 
Gastonia, Mount Holly, Dallas, and Stanley. 
 
Effective Date: July 27, 2006 
  
 
PERQUIMANS BEAR HUNTING     SB 1265, SL 2006-21 
 
Act repeals the prohibition on bear hunting in Perquimans County.     
 
Effective Date: June 27, 2006 
 
NO ALCOHOL ON POLK COUNTY RIVERS            SB 1311, SL 2006-42 
 
This act prohibits the possession or consumption of alcohol on rivers in Polk County, or within fifty 
feet of the banks of any river in that county.  This act does not apply to the actions of a landowner, 
the landowner's lessee, or the landowner's or lessee's guests on the landowner's property, if that 
property is adjacent to a river, and does not apply to that portion of the Green River that has been 
impounded to form Lake Adger.  Violation is a class 3 misdemeanor with a fine of not less than 
$50.00.   
 
Effective Date:  This act becomes effective August 1, 2006, and applies to offenses committed on 
or after that date. 
 
REGULATE GOLF CARTS/SALUDA AND FAISON  SB 1328, SL 2006-27 
 
This Act authorizes the city of Saluda and the town of Faison to regulate golf carts on public streets 
and highways within the city limits or on any property owned or leased by the city.   
 
Effective Date: June 29, 2006 
 
 

MOTOR VEHICLE LAWS 
 
8-YEAR DRIVERS LICENSE/INTERNET DL RENEWAL      HB 267; SL 2006-257 
 
The duration and renewal of driver’s licenses is now every eight years for those 18-54 years of age.  
A license for those under age 18 shall expire on their 21st birthday.  For those over age 54, the 
license expires every five years after the date of issuance.   
 
Effective Date: January 1, 2007 
 
TRANSPORTATION/MV LAW CHANGES          HB 1399; SL 2006-135 
 
Makes changes to the motor vehicle laws concerning weighing of wood residuals (including wood 
chips, sawdust, mulch or tree bark) and the statutes exempting certain agricultural vehicles from 
registration. 

 
Effective Date: July 19, 2006 
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NO PRAYER FOR JUDGMENT/BUS STOP          HB 2880; SL 2006-160 
ARM VIOLATION 
 
Prevents a person who is convicted or pleads guilty to the charge of passing a stopped school bus 
from receiving a prayer for judgment continued under any circumstances.   
 
Effective Date: September 1, 2006 
 
SEAT BELT USE ENHANCEMENTS             SB 774; SL 2006-140 
 
Except as provided in G.S. §20-137.1, every occupant of a motor vehicle must wear a seat belt.  
Failure of a rear seat occupant to wear a seat belt may not be a justification for the stop of a 
vehicle.  A driver or passenger in the front seat who fails to wear a seat belt is fined $25.00 plus 
$50.00 court costs.  A rear seat occupant who fails to wear a seat belt is fined $10.00 and no court 
costs.   
 
Effective Date: This act becomes effective December 1, 2006; Law enforcement agencies shall 
issue only warnings for violations of this act with regards to backseat passengers in motor vehicles 
from December 1, 2006, to June 30, 2007.  On July 1, 2007, law enforcement agencies may begin 
issuing citations, or taking other enforcement action, for violations of this act with regards to 
backseat passengers. Front seat passengers not in compliance with this act may continue to be 
issued citations to ensure compliance with this section. 
 
LAPSE IN LIABILITY INSURANCE             SB 881; SL 2006-213 
 
This act revises the penalties for operating a motor vehicle without proper liability insurance 
providing financial responsibility.  Those with no previous lapses, the penalty amount is $50.  For 
those with one previous lapse, the penalty amount is $100.00.  For those with two or more previous 
penalties, the penalty amount is $150.00.   
 
Effective Date: This act becomes effective July 1, 2008, and applies to lapses occurring on or after 
that date. 
 
CELL PHONE USE BY DRIVERS UNDER 18           SB 1289; SL 2006-177 
PROHIBITED 
 
This act makes it illegal for anyone under the age of 18 to operate a motor vehicle on a public street 
or highway or public vehicular area while using a mobile telephone.  This prohibition does not apply 
to the use of a cell phone in a stationary vehicle.  Exceptions are (1) using the mobile phone to 
communicate in an emergency situation to an emergency response operator; a hospital, physician's 
office, or health clinic; a public or privately owned ambulance company or service; a fire 
department; or a law enforcement agency, and (2) communicating with a parent, legal guardian or 
spouse.  Penalty for violation is a $25.00 fine.  No driver’s license points, insurance surcharge or 
court costs will be assessed for a violation.   
 
Effective Date: December 1, 2006 
 
 

WEAPONS LAW 
 

GUN PERMIT/OSHA TECHNICAL CHANGES     HB126, SL 2006-39 
 
Amends GS §14-404(a) (1) (requiring permit for pistol and crossbow sales) and GS §14-415.13(b) 
(requiring permit to carry a concealed handgun) to require that the sheriff shall determine the 
criminal and background history check of the applicant by conducting a check through the National 
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Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). Law further amends GS §14-404(a) (1) to 
clarify that sheriff must verify an applicant’s qualifications before the permit is issued.  
 
Effective Date: June 30, 2006 
 
 

RETIREMENT BENEFITS AND DISABILITY 
 
LEO CREDITABLE SERVICE/WORKERS’    HB 447, SL 2006-29 
COMPENSATION 
 
Amends G.S. §128-26(l) to provide that if a law enforcement officer returns from a leave of absence 
while receiving worker’s compensation benefits due to serious bodily injuries suffered in the line of 
duty on or after August 1, 2006, and elects to purchase creditable service for the time on leave, the 
employing law enforcement agency must pay the lump sum payable under G.S. §128-26(l) (2).  
 
Effective Date: August 1, 2006, and applies to members who return to service from an approved 
leave of absence on or after that date. 
 
ROTH 401K ACCOUNTS/LAW ENFORCEMENT         HB 2651; SL 2006-141 
OFFICERS 
 
Allows both state and local law enforcement officers in the retirement system to make Roth 401K 
after-tax contributions to the Supplement Retirement Income Plan.   
 
Effective Date: July 1, 2006 
 
STATE HEALTH PLAN/20-YEAR VESTING            SB 837; SL 2006-174 
 
Act requires that retired employees have at least twenty years of retirement benefit credit service in 
order to qualify for benefits under the Teachers’ and State Employees’ Comprehensive Major 
Medical Plan on a noncontributory basis (increases from five years to twenty years).  Those 
employees with between ten and twenty years of retirement service credit shall be eligible for 
coverage on a partially contributory basis, and the State shall pay 50% of the Plan’s total 
noncontributory premiums.  This applies to employees hired on and after October 1, 2006.   
 
Effective Date: July 1, 2006 
 
 

MISCELLANEOUS 
 
PROHIBIT EXTREME PRICING PRACTICES          HB 1231; SL 2006-245 
 
This Act protects consumers from extreme pricing practices during states of disaster, states of 
emergency or abnormal market disruptions. 

 
Effective Date: August 15, 2006 
 
AMEND IDENTITY THEFT PROTECTION ACT          HB 1248; SL 2006-173 
OF 2005 
 
Amends G.S. §132-1.10(i) to provide that if a State agency, or its political subdivision, or an 
employee or agent of a governmental agency experiences a security breach, the agency shall 
comply with G.S. §75-65, effective October 1, 2006.   Provides that identifying information is not a 
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public record, but that a record from which identifying information is redacted is a public record if it 
would otherwise be a public record but for the identifying information.  Further amends G.S. §132-
1.10(b)(5) to provide that agencies must disclose public records in response to a public records 
request even though those records contain identifying information, but only after that information is 
removed or redacted. Amends G.S. §132-1.10(f) to add the Department of the Secretary of State to 
those whom persons can request removal of personal identifying information from an image or 
official record available to the public.  Also provides that identifying information accessible by 
magnetic tapes, electronic data feeds or electronic file transfers of all records or updates of records 
on file with the Secretary of State are exempt from G.S. §132-1.10(b)(5) (prohibiting State agencies 
from intentionally making identifying information available to the general public) until July 1, 2007.  
Directs the Secretary of State, whenever funds are made available, to make it a priority to remove 
identifying information contained in the Uniform Commercial Code financing statements filed with 
the Department no later than June 30, 2007. 
 
Effective Date: Except as noted above, this Act becomes effective August 1, 2006. 
 
CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECKS/PSYCHOLOGY          HB 1327; SL 2006-175 
PRACTICE  ACT 
 
This Act allows the North Carolina Department of Justice to conduct criminal history record checks, 
both State and Federal, on applicants for licenses for the North Carolina Psychology Board. 
 
Effective Date: August 1, 2006 
 
OMNIBUS COURTS ACT             HB 1848; SL 2006-187 
 
The Judicial Department is now authorized to accept the payment of fines, fees and costs from 
offenders by credit card, charge card or debit card.  Electronic filing is authorized to use in the trial 
courts.  The State Bureau of Investigation is authorized to obtain the criminal history of any of the 
Judicial Department’s current or prospective employees, volunteers or contractors.  A Permanency 
Mediation Program is established as well as providing foreign language interpreters for indigent 
defendants.  Authorizes the Judicial Department to revise and update the procedures and 
responsibilities of the Judicial Standards Commission and authorizes six additional members to that 
Commission.  Clarifies that the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina has the 
authority to cancel court sessions or close court sessions and to extend the time limits for filing 
certain documents in the event of adverse weather or other emergency situations. Would increase 
the minimum number of magistrates for most counties. 
 
Effective Date: Electronic filing provisions of this act are effective when it becomes law and applies 
to all matters filed with the courts on or after the date that the Supreme Court adopts rules for 
electronic filing as authorized by that section.  Criminal record check provision is effective October 
1, 2006.  The Permanency mediation program becomes effective July 1, 2006.  The Judicial 
Standards Commission provisions become effective January 1, 2007.  The remainder of the act is 
effective August 3, 2006. 
 
VIDEO SERVICE COMPETITION ACT           HB 2047; SL 2006-151 
 
Among the provisions of the Consumer Choice in Cable and Uniform Taxation of Video 
Programming Services Act: 

• Establishes a statewide video service franchising process; 
• Makes changes to the regulatory treatment of existing local cable franchises; 
• Eliminates local governments’ authority to assess and collect cable franchise fees; 
• Replaces local revenues from franchise fees with a new distribution of shared sales tax 

collections from telecommunications, cable service, and satellite television service; 
• Removes the state tax credit for franchise fees paid to local governments; 
• Provides for a proportional tax distribution to local governments based on previous 

revenues from cable, including franchise fees and per subscriber charges; 
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• Provides for public, educational, and governmental (PEG) channel funding via several 
mechanisms; 

• Designates the North Carolina Secretary of State as the exclusive statewide video service 
franchising authority; 

• Designates the Consumer Protection Division of the North Carolina Office of the Attorney 
General as the agency responsible for handling consumer complaints and creates reporting 
requirements for the Consumer Protection Division regarding the type and volume of 
complaints handled; 

• Requires the Revenue Laws Study Committee to study the impact of this legislation and 
report finding to the 2008 session of the North Carolina General Assembly. 

 
Effective Date: January 1, 2007  
 
VICTIMS’ COMPENSATION CHANGES          HB 2060; SL 2006-183 
 
Changes the maximum allowable reimbursement amount from $3500 to $5000 for expenses 
related to funeral, cremation, and burial.  The Act further provides that a victim’s compensation 
claim could be denied if the victim, without good cause, has not fully cooperated in the prosecution 
of criminal cases that are related to the basis for the award. 
 
Effective Date: July 1, 2006 
 
SERVICE MEMBERS AND VETERANS/ID THEFT         HB 2883; SL 2006-158 
 
Amends G.S. §75-63(o) to prevent consumer reporting agencies from charging a veteran for a 
freeze or temporary lifting of the freeze for a period of time regarding access to a consumer credit 
report.  This applies to veterans who have received notice from the United States Department of 
Veteran’s Affairs that their information may have been breached.  Persons who are the authorized 
agents of, or receive benefits from the State or federal government based on a relationship to, a 
veteran who would or could qualify are also included.  
 
Effective Date: This act is effective when it becomes law.  The act shall be effective for a minimum 
of 90 days from the date this act becomes law, but otherwise shall expire on January 1, 2007, or 
upon the United States Department of Veterans Affairs implementing a program that will pay for a 
subscription to a credit monitoring program for persons eligible for a fee waiver under G.S. 
§75-63(o)(2) and G.S. §75-63(o)(3), whichever event occurs first. 
 
TECHNICIAL CORRECTIONS ACT-2 2005            SB 602; SL 2006-264 
 
This Act makes numerous technical corrections to the General Statutes.  Among those of interest: 

 
• Makes it clear that a summons issued to a person to serve jury duty must inform the 

prospective juror that persons 72 years of age or older may request to be exempt from jury 
service based on their age. Effective: October 1, 2006. 

• G.S. §14-269.2 prohibits possession of weapons on school or college campuses.  G.S. 
§14-269.2(h) provides that person is not in violation of this statute if they find a firearm on 
campus and immediately delivers it to law enforcement.  Previously this exemption applied 
to weapons and not just firearms and this change amends the statute so that the exception 
now applies to all weapons” and not just to “firearms”. 

• Amends G.S. §15A-1371(b) to require the Parole Commission to notify the Sheriff of the 
county where the crime occurred if they are considering the parole of a prisoner serving a 
sentence of life imprisonment.  The Parole Commission will continue to also notify the head 
of the law enforcement agency that arrested the prisoner, and the head of that agency is no 
longer required to provide the Parole Commission with a written request for notification. 

• Specifies that reserve Alcohol Law Enforcement (ALE) agents are employees of ALE for 
workers’ compensation purposes when they are performing duties assigned or approved by 
the ALE director. 
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• Requires a person applying for a driver’s license to provide a social security number to the 
Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and no longer allows the applicant to provide an 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Number instead of the required social security number. 
Provides that DMV cannot issue an identification card, learner’s permit, or driver’s license 
to an applicant who fails to provide a valid social security number, except that DMV may 
issue a license of limited duration to a person present in the United States under a valid 
visa issued by the Department of Homeland Security if that person presents the valid visa.  
It also provides that if the applicant has a visa of limited duration, the license issued by 
DMV cannot be issued for a period longer than 30 days beyond the duration of the visa. 

• Clarifies that wine producers are also permitted to be issued an on-premises wine permit. 
• Amends a law enacted in 2004 to clarify that law enforcement officers in the town of Mint 

Hill and in Surry County and municipal employees and law enforcement officers of the City 
of Kings Mountain are authorized to operate motorized all-terrain vehicles on highways with 
speed limits of 35 miles per hour or less. 

• Amends the statutes requiring an owner of an automobile to maintain automobile liability 
insurance by waiving the penalty and the restoration fee for persons who have a lapse in 
coverage while deployed as a member of the United States Armed Forces outside of the 
continental United States for a total of 45 or more days. 

• Establishes an exception to the licensing law of the Private Protective Services Board so 
that representatives of non-profit organizations in business improvement districts who 
assist tourists and residents and notify law enforcement of illegal activity observed within 
the district are not required to have a license or be registered by the Private Protective 
Services Board. 

• Amends G.S. §20-45(c) to specifically authorize State Highway Patrol Troopers to seize 
motor vehicle registration plates and registration cards if the plate or registration has been 
revoked.  This authorization also applies to all other sworn law enforcement officers within 
their subject matter and territorial jurisdiction. 

• Amends G.S. §18B-1006(p) to clarify the authority of the Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Commission to issue a special occasion permit to sports facilities occupied by a major 
league professional sports team, with suites available for sale or lease. 

 
Effective Date: Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law. 
 
PHASE OUT VIDEO POKER/EXCEPT BY COMPACT     SB 912, SL 2006-6 
 
From the enacted date of this legislation, June 6, 2006, until September 30th, locations can have up 
to three video poker machines per location.  As of October 1st, 2006, each location can only have 
up to two video poker machines and effective March 1st, 2007, each location can have only one 
video poker machine.   As of July 1, 2007, no video poker machines can be in operation in North 
Carolina, with the one exception of the Cherokee Indian Reservation Casino which can continue to 
allow the operation of video poker machines.  Effective upon enactment of this legislation, video 
poker machines can not be moved from their registered location, nor can any new machines be 
registered.   
 
This legislation exempts assemblers, repairers, manufacturers, sellers, lessors, or transporters of 
video poker machines out of state or on the Cherokee Indian Reservation.  To qualify for an 
exemption, the machines must be disabled and not operable, unless the machines are located on 
Indian land where they may be lawfully operated under a Tribal-State Compact.   
 
Violations are for a first offense, guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, for a second violation, penalties 
are increased from a Class I to a Class H felony, and for third or subsequent offenses, from a Class 
H to a Class G felony.    
 
Effective Date: June 6, 2006, except where otherwise noted. 
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JUNK FAXES              SB 1295; SL 2006-207 
 
Act provides increased protection for consumers who receive unsolicited faxes.  No person or 
entity, where either the person, entity or recipient is in the state of North Carolina shall not use a fax 
machine, computer or other device to send unsolicited advertisements to a fax machine.  This does 
not apply to a person or entity that has an established business relationship with the recipient.  A 
person or entity that receives an unsolicited fax may bring an action in civil court to enjoin further 
violations by the person or entity that sent the unsolicited fax, and an action to recover $500.00 for 
the first violation, $1000.00 for the second violation, and $5,000 for the third and any additional 
violations that occur within two years of the initial violation.  Actions should be brought in the county 
in which the recipient resides, and reasonable plaintiff attorney’s fees may be awarded.  This act 
does not restrict or alter any remedies available under federal law.   
 
Effective Date: September 1, 2006, and applies to offenses committed on or after that date. 
 
2006 TECHNICAL CORRECTIONS ACT          SB 1523; SL 2006-259 
 
This Act makes numerous technical corrections to the General Statutes.  Among those of interest: 
 

• A new definition for “antique firearm” is added under G.S. §14-409-11 to mean the 
following: (1) any firearm (including any firearm with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, 
or similar type of ignition system) manufactured on or before 1898.  (2) any replica of any 
firearm described in (1) if the replica is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire or 
conventional centerfire fixed ammunition.  (3)any muzzle loading rifle, muzzle loading 
shotgun, or muzzle loading pistol, which is designed to use black powder substitute, and 
which cannot use fixed ammunition.  Antique firearm shall not include any weapon which 
incorporates a firearm frame or receiver, is converted to a muzzle loading weapon, or is a 
muzzle loading weapon that can be readily converted to fire fixed ammunition by replacing 
the barrel, bolt, breechblock, or any combination thereof.  Antique firearm does not apply 
under G.S. §14-415.1(a) for those who have been convicted of a felony to purchase, own, 
possess, or have in his custody, care, or control any firearm or weapon of mass death and 
destruction. 

• A violation of G.S. §14-54.1, breaking or entering a religious building, is a felony.  This 
clarifies a technical error in G.S. §14-72(b).  A violation of G.S. §14-54.1, breaking or 
entering a religious building, remains a felony. 

• Adds certified law enforcement officers employed by a company police agency to the list of 
law enforcement officers that are authorized to carry concealed weapons while on duty.  
These certified officers were already authorized to carry concealed weapons while off duty 
pursuant to federal law (HR218) and this change will allow them to also carry concealed 
weapons while on duty as well. 

• Corrects a bill drafting error in G.S. §14-306.1A. Senate Bill 912, Phase Out Video 
• Poker/Except by Compact, was enacted earlier this Session and contained a technical 

drafting error that is corrected by this provision. 
• Reinstates a previous State law that will now be in conformity with federal law providing 

that the prohibition against a convicted felon of possessing a firearm does not apply to an 
“antique firearm.” 

• Makes technical changes to G.S. §20-157(f), the “move over” law, to make it clear that it 
also applies to “public service vehicles.”  This was the original intent of the “move over” law 
and some technical drafting changes were needed in the original version. 

• Provides that employees of electric utility companies while engaged in power line 
inspection, may operate all-terrain vehicles while wearing safety helmets required by the 
Department of Labor, and when they are doing so they are not required to wear the safety 
helmets normally required of riders of ATVs. 

• Clarifies G.S. §20-217(g), penalty for passing a stopped school bus, to make it clear that a 
violation occurs when the driver “willfully” passes the stopped school bus. 

• Amends G.S.  §128-1.1 to clarify the authority of State and local law enforcement agencies 
to authorize their law enforcement officers to enforce specified federal laws when there is a 
Memorandum of Agreement or a Memorandum of Understanding with the federal agency. 
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• Corrects a typographical error in a specific statute number contained in Senate Bill 912, 
Phase Out Video Poker/Except by Compact, that was enacted into law earlier this Session. 
Effective: June 6, 2006. 

• Makes a technical correction to the effective date of House Bill 2098, Protection of Animals, 
that was enacted into law earlier this Session.  

• Requires the Legislative Research Commission to study drug treatment courts in North 
Carolina. 

• Amends House Bill 2188, The Candidate Challenge Bill, to make it clear that the new 
procedure applies to all candidates for public office.  The original version of the bill enacted 
earlier this Session unintentionally limited the procedure to certain candidates. 

 
Effective Date: Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law. 
 
DISORDERLY CONDUCT/FUNERAL/MILITARY            SB 1833; SL 2006-169 
SERVICES 
 
This Act prohibits disorderly conduct at a military funeral or memorial service.  A person who 
commits a violation of this Act is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor for a first offense, a Class 1 
misdemeanor for a second offense, and a Class I felony for third or subsequent offenses. 
 
Effective Date: December 1, 2006, and applies to offenses committed on or after that date. 
 
 

BUDGET PROVISIONS 
 
2006 MODIFY APPROPRIATIONS ACT OF 2005           SB 1741; SL 2006-66 
 
Following is a short summary of pertinent provisions contained in the approved continuation budget 
for 2006: 
 
 Department of Justice 
 

• Funding was provided to expand the State Bureau of Investigation by providing 
twelve new positions.  Funding was approved for five new drug chemistry experts 
to analyze evidence from drug crimes including meth busts.  Funding was also 
provided for a DNA expert and a computer forensic analyst for the Lab, five new 
SBI field agents including one to investigate trafficing of methamphetamines and 
other drugs, two to specialize in finacial crimes and public corruption cases, and 
two computer crimes agents to partner with the national Internet Crimes Against 
Children Task Force.  

• Provides funding to replace the Statewide Automated Fingerprint Identification 
System (SAFIS) to greater serve more than 500 law enforcement agencies across 
the state.  Law enforcers use the system to pinpoint suspects using unique 
identifiers on fingerprints from a crime scene, and the data is also used to screen 
potential employees who work in schools and nursing homes.  Provides $72,180 
recurring and $1,891,588 non-recurring for SAFIS replacement as well as funding 
for one application development supervisor position.. 

• Funding is provided to start the Sex Offender Watch Program, which will notify 
people by email when a registerd sex offender moves into their neighborhood or 
near their child’s school.  The alerts will also link to maps so communities can 
pinpoint where a sex offender lives. 

• The Criminal Justice Training and Standards Division is provided funding in the 
amount of $300,000 to develop new online training and registration.  The system 
will support Division efforts to provide traning and certification services to the 
state’s 29,000 law enforcement officers, 7,000 detention officers, and all 911 
operatiors.  
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• Provides expansion for the SBI to purchase two diesel generators and cubicle 
furniture to accomidate personnel relocating from Blount Street to the SBI campus. 

• Funds are provided for a business recovery site to house the back-up computer 
center being relocated from Blount Street.  This funding also includes money for 
telecommunication charges and IT service charges.  

• Legal Services positions were added to the Law Enforcement Liaison Section and 
Criminal Appellate Sections to include two Attorney II positions and one Attorney III 
position.   In addition, an Attorney I position as well as a Tort Claims Adjustor 
position were included to handle the increased demand for tort claims processing 
services. 

• Funding is provided to the North Carolina Legal Assistance Fund (NC LEAF) to 
increase education loan repayment assistance for qualified law school graduates 
who accept positions with public or non-profit agencies. 

 
Administrative Office of the Courts/Judicial (Court System) 
• Funding is provided for 90 new assistant district attorneys and 9 victim witness 

legal assistants.  This will provide new assistant district attorneys in every 
Prosecutorial District in North Carolina.  These positions are effective January 1, 
2007. 

• $3 million is provided for the Administrative Office of the Courts to implement an 
automated evidence tracking system that can register items of evidence, track their 
use and verify that the items have been disclosed as required by law. 

• Prosecutorial District 19B is split by leaving Randolph and Montgomery Counties in 
19B and moving Moore County to the newly created Prosecutorial District 19D. 
This change will be effective January 15, 2007. 

• Funding is provided for 75 additional Deputy Clerk of Court positions throughout 
the State. These new positions will be effective January 1, 2007. 

• Provides funding for 17 new District Court Judges in the Districts listed below. 
These new judgeships are effective January 15, 2007.  The Districts are:   

o 3B — Craven, Carteret and Pamlico Counties 
o 6A — Halifax County 
o 10 — Wake County 
o 1 — Johnston, Lee and Harnett Counties 
o 14 — Durham County 
o 15B — Orange and Chatham Counties 
o 17A — Rockingham County 
o 18 — Guilford County 
o 19B — Randolph, Montgomery and Moore Counties 
o 19C — Rowan County 
o 20B — Union County 
o 25 — Burke, Catawba and Caldwell Counties 
o 26 — Mecklenburg County 
o 27A — Gaston County 
o 27B — Cleveland and Union Counties 
o 28 — Buncombe County 
o 30 — Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon and Swain 

Counties 
• Funding is provided for six new magistrates to be assigned in the following 

counties: Carteret, Greene, Alamance, Robeson, Montgomery and Gaston. 
• Appropriates funds to raise the fee paid to jurors from $12 per day to $12 per day 

for the first day of service, $20 per day for days 2 - 5, and $40 per day thereafter. 
Grand jurors’ pay would be raised from $12 to $20 per day. 
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Corrections 
• Funding is provided for five positions in the Community Corrections Division of the 

Department of Correction to implement GPS monitoring of the most serious 
convicted sex offenders. 

• Provides $712,500 to restore part of the funds cut from the Criminal Justice 
Partnership Program (CJPP) in previous years. 

• Provides $385,000 to begin replacement of body armor worn by probation and 
parole officers. 

• Provides funding to increase prison bed capacity by a total of 468 beds, spread 
over six prisons: Brown Creek, Harnett, Lumberton, Dan River, Tiller and Tyrrell. 

• Provides funding to the Department of Correction to continue the “Security Threat 
Group Unit” at Foothills Correctional Institution.  This program is designed to target 
gang members, to increase supervision of inmates who belong to gangs and to 
provide them with education and skills. 

• Additional funding of $75,000 is provided to Women at Risk which works with 
female offenders in Western North Carolina. 

• Authorizes the Department of Correction to issue certificates of participation for the 
planning and construction of a new 120-bed medical center and a 200-bed mental 
health center to serve prisoners in the state prison system.  These facilities will be 
located at Central Prison in Raleigh. 

 
Crime Control and Public Safety 

• Funding is provided of $440,000 for training and equipment for the Urban Search & 
Rescue and Swift Water Rescue teams. 

• Provides funding for the State’s seven HAZMAT Regional Response Teams to 
support their training and equipment replacement. 

• $1.5 million is provided to the Governor’s Crime Commission for competitive grants 
that will be awarded to local government and community agencies for gang 
violence prevention, intervention and suppression. 

• Funding is provided for four additional State Trooper positions. 
• Provides $208,892 from the Highway Fund for the maintenance of the portion of 

the VIPER system that has already been built. 
• $1 million is provided to be used for the backlog of approved, but unpaid, victim 

compensation claims. 
• Requires the State Highway Patrol to issue a request for a proposal for bids for the 

maintenance of the current VIPER system.  It also requires the Criminal Justice 
Information Network (CJIN) to “prepare a cost allocation plan for the continued 
construction and operation or the leasing of the VIPER system that shall include 
proposed shared costs for installation and use by all government users, including 
but not limited to, the Department of Health and Human Services, the State 
Emergency Management Division, the Wildlife Resources Commission, the State 
Bureau of Investigation, the State Highway Patrol, and Alcohol Law Enforcement, 
and local agencies.  The plan to be developed by CJIN will include an assessment 
of service contracts needed to ensure technology updates to the VIPER system.  
The CJIN report shall be made to the General Assembly by October 1, 2006. 

 
Salaries and Employee Benefits 

• The budget provides a 5.5 percent annual salary increase for state employees. 
• The budget provides a 3 percent increase in retirement benefits for retired State 

employees. The North Carolina Local Governmental Employees’ Retirement 
System has authorized a 2.8 percent increase in retirement benefits for retired local 
governmental employees. 
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Miscellaneous 
• Provides funding for one additional Unauthorized Substances Tax Enforcement 

Agent, which brings the total number of agents to 13. 
• Provides funding to the Division of Motor Vehicles to replace old license plates that 

are often in poor condition and that provide limited visibility to law enforcement 
officers. The last plates were recalled in 1990. 

• Provides $10 million for the continued development and building of the Voice 
Interoperability Plan for Emergency Responders (VIPER). 

• Provides $8.5 million that will be added to federal funding to design and construct a 
new Emergency Operations Center in Raleigh. 

• Provides $98,000 to the Department of Health and Human Services to inform the 
public about the Safe Surrender Act, which was enacted into law in 2001. That law 
provides that it is not a criminal offense for a person to abandon a baby less than 
seven days old as long as the baby is delivered to a health care provider, law 
enforcement officer, EMS worker or social services worker. 

• Provides an additional $750,000 for training of judges at the Judicial College of the 
School of Government at UNC-Chapel Hill. 

• Repeals the Sunset of Open Container Law.  Currently, the law that prohibits open 
containers of alcoholic beverages in motor vehicles is scheduled to expire on 
September 30, 2006. This provision removes that expiration date and allows this 
law to continue in effect indefinitely, unless it is changed by a future session of the 
General Assembly. 

• The Unauthorized Substances Tax Division of the North Carolina Department of 
Revenue distributed $2,434,270 too much to State and local law enforcement 
agencies for the period of 7/1/05 to 12/31/05.  The overpayment of these funds was 
made to 375 different law enforcement agencies.  The largest amount of 
overpayment was $324,560.69 to the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department. 
The smallest amount was $.13 to the Andrews Police Department.  Until June 30, 
2009, the Unauthorized Substances Tax Division is required to deduct the 
overpayments from future payments owed to the affected agencies “to offset the 
amount that was improperly distributed to that agency.” 


